POKHARA addendum

I’m still not completely au fait with operating the editing suite on my Blog site and the following was not posted as I had intended it, with the POKHARA blog.

Ajay took me to see a Beekeeper who also manufactures hives I bought a hive comprising 1 brood chamber, one super, floor, cover board and roof. To be collected. On the way back we made a detour to see Tiger Mountain. The road was steep and about half way up the surface began to deteriorate. Large areas of tarmac had broken up and erosion had occurred up to a foot deep in places. Our party comprised 4 people on two motorcycles. Ajay had to give up before we got to the top. My rider Rupak, carried on and we were rewarded with some gorgeous views of Pokhara. A pot of tea and a Blackforest gateau later we set off back down the “mountain”. On the way down Rupak, my rider switched off his engine, presumably to save fuel. It was “hairy” I don’t know how dangerous it was but it certainly felt dangerous. Believe me, the adrenalin was flowing! Once back in Pokhara we went to visit Parbhatti’s older Brother and when we dismounted I looked skyward and held my hands up as if in thanks to the Gods. The boys found this most amusing! As we were still in the week of Dashain, Parbhatti’s older brother carried out the Tikka ceremony and we were duly anointed, in the centre of the forehead with the red dyed rice grains.

I’ve made a promise to myself, despite the pleasant experience of the flight from KMD to Pokhara and some uncomfortable journeys by bus, whilst in Nepal, I will in future try to travel by bus whenever possible.

I some Nepali words the first letter is “expirated”, imagine you’re huffing on a cold window to steam it up. Insert this sound after the p at the beginning of the word ‘pharshi’ and that means pumpkin. Say ‘parsi’ without “expiration” and it means the day after tomorrow. To me both these words sound the same but a subtle change in pronunciation makes a big difference to a Nepali listener. I’m trying to use the Nepali language when I can and yesterday apparently I said I was travelling a la Cinderella in a pumpkin. Nothing sinks in when I hear it first, it takes numerous usages for the word to spring to mind automatically but it gives me great pleasure to complete a sentence and be clearly understood.

15th October

An important omission from my blog on Pokhara was to mention a very interesting, instructive, hospitable and relaxing day spent with the parents of a young man known as Raj dia to all members of my household in the UK. Raj dia is studying for a Masters degree in the UK and pops round often to chat mostly with the younger members but is  always able to make everyone smile with his unfailing, gentle but impish sense of humour. he is the spitting.image of his dad including the wicked sense of humour. Dad took me to see his smallholding, we took in some gorgeous scenery, slightly more seriously tasty food than is good for my waistline and had a very interesting and informative talk with a local beekeeper. Dad was a teacher before he retired and needless to say his knowledge of Nepali and English grammar is way better than mine. Sometimes I’ll go upstairs to my bedroom to look for something and when I get there I can’t remember what. I can’t remember Raj dai’s Mum and Dad’s names but I do remember that they were wonderful hosts and that I had a lovely lovely day!nepalese-honey-hunters-01

You can see this near Pokhara, I’ve seen the bees but not the harvest

I think I’d want a mediaeval suit of armour and a much longer pole!

